Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Options

As I am attempting to lose weight, I find myself frustrated and slightly unsure. Neither of these feelings are enjoyable for me.

 I was trying with the 6-week Body Makeover. However, I was simply not getting results while on a very restrictive diet. This plan does not allow salt, sugar, dairy, fat, oil, etc. Basically one can have only a select few fruit types, a couple of different complex carbs, some select few lean proteins and many vegetables. It becomes very tedious and boring, especially when your weight is not really moving much. I had an initial small loss but nothing since.

 If I have discovered anything in my weight loss journeys, it is that when I am feeling frustrated, I cannot stick to a restrictive plan. I can do anything if I am seeing results. With that said, I am looking at a few options.

One is the new to the US Dukan Diet. While this seems somewhat restrictive, it does include pretty much unlimited portions of protein (my favorite). I have read good reviews and a few not so good reviews. I do know that I can get the book for $12 for my Nook. I am seriously considering getting it and at least checking it out. The second option is a local weight loss center. This place combines specific calorie and diet plans, vitamin supplements, exercise plans, and shots of a B-complex twice a month. I have also read good reviews for them and my daughter's friend has lost weight since going there. It has an initial $99 fee for blood work and everything and it appears to have a fee for about $75 a month for visits, consultations, and shots.

 My cousin has tried the medi-fast plan and lost over 100 pounds but the food for that is over $300 a month which is pretty expensive, especially considering a lot of that food is shakes.

I have also seriously considered having the surgery. My friend's daughter had it and now looks fabulous! I know it was hard for her in the beginning to adjust to but she did and it has worked. Of course I can't do this unless insurance will pay for it and I currently have no idea whether they will or not. I know that would be hard in the very beginning but I just think that I have been overweight for so long that maybe surgery is the only option left for me.

 People who are not or never have had true weight problems, really do not get it. I have had people think that I am just lazy or have no control. This could not be further from the truth. Even someone very near to me had a maddening response to my latest frustration. When I mentioned that I had been restricting so much to no avail, he said that I needed to try harder and just eat right and it would work. Really! Really! If you have never struggled, do not pretend to know what it is like. I have been in restriction mode and gained weight while the person next to me eats junk and loses 3 pounds.

I really don't know which of the options to choose. I just know that I don't want to live in this body any more. I don't want to be the fat girl every where I go. I don't want the first descriptive word used for me to be heavy. I don't want people to make wrong assumptions about me based on my weight any more. Of course, it goes beyond just the appearance factor. I know that I will feel physically better and be better able to do things I want to do. I have begun to realize I get short of breath doing things that shouldn't cause that! I also know that I will feel psychologically better as well. Yes, the rational part of me gets what a benefit weight loss would be. I just can't get the physical to fall in line. It is not happening.

So which do I choose? My current thinking is that I will start with the cheapest (Dukan Diet) and work my way up to surgery if needed.

 I will post updates!

No comments:

Post a Comment